Fall Insanity

002eggplantarugula009019023006

Everyone says that September is the craziest but I seriously underestimated how crazy re-entry would be this year.  I definitely have not yet found the rhythm of our schedule and how to fit in all the projects I want to do with work, the kid’s schedules and keeping the house running (ha!). How we got to October, I will never know, but here we are!

It has been really warm here, with only a couple of light frosts, so the garden is still going. The veggies in the raised beds are growing like crazy – except for the Swiss Chard.  We are getting tons of arugula, the Kale looks strong and in the Spring, we will have a bunch of carrots and parsnips – if I can mange to keep the chipmunks from eating them.  The chipmunks have been brutal this year, and have been the biggest threat to our tomatoes, which is totally annoying.  That said, we are still bringing tomatoes out of the garden everyday. We have roasted and canned some and as in years past, I have been just chopping and freezing tomatoes in dinner-sized portions.  When we make pasta, eggplant and mint or Puttanesca, I just take them right out of the freezer to roast.  It’s a huge timesaver, especially when most of the tomatoes are coming out in September right when your schedule gets crazy.  The tomato tart above is a favorite in our fam – even with Ceara who doesn’t love tomatoes.  You just roll out some puff pastry dough, put shredded parm on the dough, layer with plum tomatoes and finish off with fresh thyme, a drizzle of olive oil and salt and pepper.  You have to roll up the edges a little but otherwise just bake according to directions.  It’s so good.

I finished my Ramona cardigan.  Forgive the ridiculous picture but since I wanted to get this post up, I had Ceara snap a few photos. We were going for a run and I literally said, before I change, can you just take a few pictures of me in my sweater? I put the sweater on and we ran outside.  Hence the baseball hat. No photo styling here.  Haha. The sweater was knit with Quince and Co. Puffin yarn in a color called Carrie’s Yellow.  I’m not really a yellow person and never wear yellow so I’m not sure why I bought this color but I bought four skeins of this yarn more than five years ago.  Maybe even longer that.  It was the first “good yarn” that I ever bought, i.e., not from JoAnn’s.  I have no idea why I never did anything with it right away but it has been sitting in my stash for a LONG time.  At some point last spring, I was going through yarn to see what I had and I decided that this summer I would use it to knit a cardigan for myself.  I knew it would be super squishy and rustic and it will be perfect for hanging out on weekends.  It’s actually meant to be more of a fitted cardigan but I made it bigger because I knew it would be a hangout sweater.  In addition to making a larger size than I wear, I added some length to the body and I made the sleeves a little wider so it could fit over things.  Originally I had a ribbed cuff on the sleeves but when it was done blocking, I decided I didn’t like how baggy the sleeves were with the ribbed binding so I ripped it off and just kept the sleeves with a rolled edge. I had to order additional skeins from Quince (twice!) so there are different dye lots in there and well, let’s just say it wouldn’t win any awards.  But I am happy that it is done and ready for outdoor firepits!

I am in full swing knitting and planning for Christmas and the bowl of yarn is some that I ordered for gifts.  The dusty purple is Worsted Twist from Purl is already on the needles for a sweater for my cousin’s daughter and the blues are Quince and Co. Lark and they are destined for hats.

We are all decorated for Halloween and Teagan is off-the-wall excited.  I’ll save those pics for another post because this is getting too long. xo

 

One thought on “Fall Insanity

  1. Glad you had time to get back to the blog it’s nice to see the things that you have going on. I know you are really busy but it’s fun to read

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

