In the Summer Groove

001013009drop stitch cowl025017015018

There’s something about this year that the summer really feels like summer.  I’m not sure how to explain it  but even with work and summer softball, I really feel like I have been soaking it in.  The kids seemed more relaxed, too.  I’m so glad we took it easy on the camps this year and that I was able to work from home more and have my mom and my mother-in-law watch the girls.  Growing up with a mother who was a teacher (at least when I was young), I was always able to be home, in my own house, playing in my own yard during the summer.  I think that’s what made it feel like it lasted so long and what made it feel like such a break.  When everything is over-scheduled, it goes by in a blur.  With Ceara turning 13 this week, I am fully-appreciating how fleeting these childhood days are and I’m glad that we have had some good family time and that they have been able to relax and swim and hang out with their friends.  I am also so glad that they have had this time with their grandmothers.  I’m feeling pretty lucky that we have that as an option because I know lots of people don’t.

After finishing my beach tank, I wanted to knit something that was relatively quick and I wanted to start my Christmas gift-making in earnest.  I had pinned this Drop Stitch Cowl last year thinking I might make it for someone but never did.  It came together really quickly.  I like it but don’t love it so I think I might experiment with weaving in a color or two.

I’m not sure what to say about the number of butternut squash, cucumbers and pumpkins we have.  It’s like a full-time job guiding the vines away from the tomatoes and eggplants! I knew I was putting too much in the space but I have to admit it’s a little out of control.  I also feel like the bees are really helping the garden this year.  Last year, I felt like I never saw any of our bees in the garden and this year, you can’t look in a flower and not see a bee.  It’s pretty incredible. xo

Leave a Reply

