The Beach and Beach Tank

July 2016 002July 2016 034July 2016 035July 2016 040July 2016 047July 2016 085July 2016 100

We went to Martha’s Vineyard for the 4th with some friends and it was the perfect get-away.  The weather could not have been better and we were all just happy to be off the grid (kind of) for a few days.  We had an awesome beach day at Chappaquiddick, with barely anyone else in sight.  It was like having the beach to ourselves.  The water was gorgeous and the sunset views could not be beat.  MV is definitely our happy place and we feel really lucky to have friends there. While the trip was mostly about relaxing, we kept up with tradition and ran the “Run the Chop” 5 miler.  Ceara and I also got some one-on-one time on Sunday to go shopping and get lunch.  We hit up our favorite shops in Vineyard Haven and had lunch outside at Black Dog.  It was such a nice day.

July 2016 108

I also met my goal and finished the Beach Tank in time to wear it for the 4th of July parade and lunch in Edgartown.  I am ridiculously proud of this tank top.  Even though it was a super easy project, it is the first garment (not accessory) I have ever knit for myself that I have actually been able to wear and can’t wait to wear again.  This isn’t the best picture but as I mentioned before, I followed this pattern.   Because I have such a long torso, I added on about 3 extra inches and it falls right to my hip bones.  It is intended to be a cropped tank but I knew I wanted it be longer.  I loved knitting this so much and want to see if I can make a long sleeve version with the same yarn combination. It is so soft.  I’m thinking a wide neck and loose sleeves.  xo

 

Leave a Reply

